Sign up for our newsletter and get a curated list of the top trending stories and exclusive rewards every day.

Trending Topics

Get the MTL Blog app

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

20 Montreal Metro Stations Have Changed Names

Since May 2014 the STM has been very very sneeky.
20 Montreal Metro Stations Have Changed Names

Photo cred - Coolsebas1208

According to the Journal de Montreal, quite a few of Montreal's Metro stations have changed their names without anyone noticing nor any announcement by the STM.

The Commission de toponymie of Québec approved the move to change 20 of the STM's 68 Metro station names back in May 2014.

For the time being none of the signs within the stations will be updated except for Square-Victoria—OACI which was done in May and was publicly announced.

An online guide with all the name changes will be made available on the STM website in order to clarify everything.

Take a look below at all of the name changes.

1. Acadie becomes de L'Acadie

2. Assomption becomes de L'Assomption

3. Cadillac becomes De Cadillac

4. Champ-de-Mars becomes Du Champ-de-Mars

5. Côte-des-Neiges becomes De la Côte-des-Neiges

6. Côte-Sainte-Catherine becomes De la Côte-Sainte-Catherine

7. Côte-Verdu becomes De la Côte-Vertu

8. Longueuil-Université-de-Sherbrooke becomes De Longueuil-Université-de-Sherbrooke

9. Mont-Royal becomes Du Mont-Royal

10. Namur becomes De Namur

11. Outremont becomes D'Outremont

12. Parc becomes Du Parc

13. Place-d'Armes becomes De la Place-d'Armes

14. Place-des-Arts becomes De la Place-des-Arts

15. Place Saint-Henri becomes De la Place-Saint-Henri

16. Snowdon becomes De Snowdon

17. Square-Victoire becomes Du Square-Victoria-OACI

18. Université-de-Montréal becomes De l'Université-de-Montréal

19. Vendôme becomes De Vendôme

20. Verdun becomes De Verdun

Do you think this was a wise move?


More from MTL Blog

Comments 💬

Our comment section is a place to promote self-expression, freedom of speech and positivity. We encourage discussion and debate, but our pages must remain a safe space where everyone feels comfortable and the environment is respectful.

In order to make this possible, we monitor comments to keep spam, hate speech, violence, and vulgarity off our pages. Comments are moderated according to our Community Guidelines.

Please note that Narcity Media does not endorse the opinions expressed in the comment section of an article. Narcity Media has the right to remove comments, ban or suspend any user without notice, or close a story’s comment section at any time.

First and last names will appear with each comment and the use of pseudonyms is prohibited. By commenting, you acknowledge that Narcity Media has the right to use & distribute your content across our properties.