You Will Not Be Allowed To Smoke Marijuana At These 4 National Parks In Canada

They're probably the most popular parks in the country.
Senior Editor
You Will Not Be Allowed To Smoke Marijuana At These 4 National Parks In Canada

The legalization of recreational marijuana in Canada is only days away, but still officials are scrambling to finalize cannabis regulations.

Legalization is a grand experiment in Canada. It is only the second country and first major economy to do so.

ALSO READ: Canada To Offer University Degrees In Marijuana After Legalization

TL;DR Canadians will not be allowed to smoke marijuana in parks of Jasper, Banff, Prince Albert, and Riding Mountain National Parks.

As such, laws and enforcement tactics related to the drug are largely untested.

That's why it is taking so long to learn exactly where and how, for example, it will be legal to consume cannabis. 

Thankfully, though, Parks Canada just made clear its marijuana policy.

According to Global News, the agency has decided to allow weed smoking on campgrounds, so long as smokers stay clear of communal spaces.

Visitors to national parks in British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario, and Quebec will additionally be able to smoke on trails, unless otherwise posted.

Parks will also be subject to municipal regulations, however. For that reason, smoking in some national parks will be entirely forbidden.

Below is a list of national parks in Canada according to their cannabis policies.

No smoking allowed*:

– Banff (within Banff, Alberta)
– Jasper (within Jasper, Alberta)
– Prince Albert (within Waskesiu, Saskatchewan)
– Riding Mountain (within Wasagaming, Manitoba)

Smoking at campsites allowed:

– Aulavik (Northwest Territories)
– Auyuittuq (Nunavut)
– Cape Breton Highlands (Nova Scotia)
– Fundy (New Brunswick)
– Grasslands (Saskatchewan)
– Grose Morne (Newfoundland)
– Ivvavik (Yukon)
– Kejimkujik (Nova Scotia)
– Kluane (Yukon)
– Kouchibouguac (New Brunswick)
– Prince Edward Island (PEI)
– Quasuittuq (Nunavut)
– Quittinirpaaq (Nunavut)
– Sirmilik (Nunavut)
– Terra Nova (Newfoundland & Labrador)
– Torngat Mountains (Newfoundland & Labrador)
– Tuktut Nogait (Northwest Territories)
– Ukkusiksalik (Nunavut)
– Vuntut (Yukon)
– Wapusk (Manitoba)

Smoking at campsites and on trails allowed:

– Glacier (BC)
– Kootenay (BC)
– Mount Revelstoke (BC)
– Yoho (BC)
– Bruce Peninsula (Ontario)
– Georgian Bay Islands (Ontario)
– Point Pelee (Ontario)
– Pukaskwa (Ontario)
– Rouge (Ontario)
– Thousand Islands (Ontario)
– Elk Island (Alberta)
– Waterton Lakes (Alberta)
– Wood Buffalo (Alberta)
– Forillon (Quebec)
– La Maurice (Quebec)

* Smoking will not be allowed in the parts of those national parks that fall within those specific municipalities. However, because municipal borders are obscur within national parks, cannabis consumers could find easily find themselves in legal trouble. The best course of action may be to abstain from marijuana within these parks entirely.

For many, marijuana will enhance the experiences that Canada's national parks offer.

For others, the drug could tarnish the parks. Weed tourism to such sacred preserve could threaten them, especially if smokers are careless with their paraphernalia and garbage.

This list is subject to change as marijuana legislation across the country changes. 

Stay tuned.


Recommended For You