Facebook Will Finally Let You Delete Private Messages But A Notification Stays
We've all been there. We get into a heated argument and send a Facebook message we regret. Or worse: we accidentally send an embarrassing message to the wrong person.
Such mistakes can ruin relationships and lead to months of ridicule. Then forever after you look back on the event with that painful shudder of humiliation.
TL;DR Facebook is releasing a feature through which users can delete messages sent through Messenger. The only catch is that Facebook will notify your conversation partner/s when you do this.
In the new age of automatically disappearing social media stories and conversations, the permanence of Facebook messages has been perhaps users' biggest complaint.
Thankfully, that all changes today.
According to a release, Facebook will now allow users to delete private messages sent through Facebook Messenger. Users will have the option to just "Remove For You" or "Remove For Everyone" in a conversation.
This does not appear to be an "unsend" option. Once "removed," the message will not reappear in the draft space.
Unfortunately, Facebook will also notify other members of a conversation when this action is taken, essentially calling you out to your conversation partners. But at least you can deny other people precious receipts when you make a mistake or misspeak.
You will have ten minutes to delete a message after it is sent so act fast!
The Facebook announcement states that this new feature launches today!
This is going to change the game. You could even send an angry message and delete it just for cathartic purposes. Make sure the "Remove for Everyone" and "Remove for You" options appear though! Simply pressing "delete" will only make the message disappear from your screen.