Search on MTL Blog

McDonald's New Vegan Menu

McDonald's New Vegan Menu

No matter where you live, chances are there is a McDonald's nearby. But if you're vegan, having a McDonald's on every corner doesn't really help at all.

So we started thinking that there must be at least a few things vegans can eat McDonald's.

READ ALSO: Montreal Opens Huge All-New “100% Quebec Local” Vegan Restaurant

After all, you might be stuck there for a kid's birthday party, or perhaps you're starving and there's nothing else nearby.

Whatever the reason, you'll be glad to know there are vegan options at McDonald's.

(We have to point out that McDonald's does not promote any of their menu items as vegetarian, vegan or gluten-free. But we checked out a few vegan blogs, and it turns out there are more McVegan options than we thought.)


via @mcdonalds

First, let me start with the fries, just to get that out of the way. When we started this article, we were convinced the fries might be the only vegan option on the menu. However vegan websites claim they aren't, because they contain "natural beef flavor".

But according to McDonald's nutritional information, the fries no longer contain "natural beef flavor", and instead contain "natural flavors" derived from a "vegetable source". So at this point, it's up to you to decide just how vegan you really are.


via @617s_stewart

You'd think salads were a safe bet, but think again. Only the side garden salad is vegan. But if you ask nicely and are willing to pay a little extra, you can ask them to add apple slices and grape tomatoes.

Bagels and English Muffins

via @mcdonalds

We're just as surprised as you are, but this blog claims that the bagels and most of the other bread products at McDonald's are vegan. Just make sure they don't butter it. You can also ask them to add tomatoes and lettuce, and if you feel bad for asking, you can just order a regular breakfast bagel sandwich, without egg and meat.


via @alishamabe

The oatmeal is vegan as long as you tell them not to add cream. The oatmeal with fruit and maple also works without cream.


via @mcdonalds

As long as you don't add milk, cream or sugar, all McDonald's coffees are vegan.


via @mcdonaldscanada

Most of the sodas including coke aren't vegan. However you can choose between: Apple Juice, Orange Juice, Bottled Water and Iced Tea.


via @mcdonalds

These items can't be ordered on their own, but you can ask to add them onto whatever you maybe ordering: Buns, Pickle Slices, Flour Tortilla, Lettuce, Onion, Red Onion, Salsa, Mushrooms, and Tomatoes.


via @mcdonaldscanada

If you're desperate to add flavor, this blog claims the following condiments are vegan: BBQ Sauce, Grape Jam, Strawberry Jam, Ketchup, Liquid Margarine, McRib Sauce, Mustard, Southwestern, Chipotle, Barbeque, Sauce, Strawberry Preserves, Sweet ‘N Sour Sauce


Add mtlblog on Snapchat.

Recommended For You