Montreal's 68 STM Metro Station Names Explained. This Map Shows It All!

It's useless information that is useful to know as a Montrealer.
Montreal's 68 STM Metro Station Names Explained. This Map Shows It All!

Montreal metro names are weird, like the fact they are called metros and not subways if you're not from here.

Every name seems to be an homage to a person or a place. But who are these people? Where are these places? And what the hell does Namur mean?

Luckily a Montrealer named Gilles Laporte decided to make metro map to list the origin of every metro station.

Here are the translations of the stations which were included:

Green Line

    • Station Honoré-Beaugrand : Honoré-Beaugrand founder of the La Patrie newspaper and mayor of Montreal.
    • Station Radisson : Pierre Esprit Radisson, he was a 'coureur des bois' and later founded the Hudson Bay company.
    • Station Langelier : Sir Francois-Charles-Stanislas Langelier, Minister and Lieutenant Governor.
    • Station Cadillac : Antoine Laumet de la mothe Cadillac, founder of Detroit Michigan.
    • Station Assomption : Named after the dogma of the assumption of the Virgin Mary which was confirmed by Pope Pius XII on 1 November 1950.
    • Station Pie-IX : Named after Pope Pius IX (1846-1878).
    • Station Joliette : Bathelemy Joliette, notary, entrepreneur and Lord of Lavaltrie.
    • Station  Préfontaine : Raymond-Fournier Préfontaine, mayor of Hochelaga and Montreal.
    • Station Frontenac : Louis de Buade de Frontenac et de Palluau, Governor of New France.
    • Station Papineau : Joseph Papineau, notary, surveyor, deputy and father of Louis-Joseph Papineau.
    • Station Beaudry : Pierre Beaudry, the original owner of the property.
    • Station Berri-UQAM : The plot of land was originally named Berri and the UQAM was established there in 1979.
    • Station Saint-Laurent : Named after the street it is on which leads to the Saint-Laurent Parish.
    • Station Place des Arts : Named as such because it was built underneath the Place des Arts cultural complex.
    • Station McGill : James McGill donated the land in 1821.
    • Station Peel : Sir Robert Peel, English Prime Minister.
    • Station Guy-Concordia : Etienne Guy donated the land in 1815.
    • Station Atwater : Edwin Atwater, founder of the District Savings Bank.
    • Station Lionel-Groulx : Historian and teacher, contributed to the Quebec nationalist awakening.
    • Station Charlevoix : Francois-Xavier Charlevoix, Jesuit and explorer of the Mississippi.
    • Station LaSalle : Robert Cavelier de La Salle, the founder of Louisiana.
    • Station de l’Église : Refers to the first Saint-Paul Church.
    • Station Verdun : Named after Saverdun in France.
    • Station Jolicoeur : J. Moses-Jolicoeur, preacher of the of the Notre-Dame-de-Perpetuel-Secours Parish.
    • Station Monk : Sir James Monk, Chief Justice of Lower Canada.
  • Station Angrignon : Jean-Baptiste-Arthur Angrignon was a Canadian politician and a city councillor.

Orange Line

    • Station Henri-Bourassa : Henri Bourassa, journalist and nationalist politician.
    • Station Sauvé : Name of the owner of the land the street crosses.
    • Station Crémazie : Octavious Crémazie Librarian and poet.
    • Station Jarry : Named for Stanislas Blegnier Jarry pere.
    • Station Jean-Talon : Jean Talon, Count d'Orsainville was the first Intendant of New France.
    • Station Beaubien : Dr. Pierre Beaubien owned most of the land occupied by the Mount-Royal.
    • Station Rosemont : Rosemont's first mayor named it in honor of his mother Rose Philips
    • Station Laurier : Sir Wilfrid Laurier was the seventh Prime Minister of Canada.
    • Station Mont-Royal : Named street, which was named after the mountain, which was named by Jacques Cartier in 1535.
    • Station Sherbrooke : Sir John Coape Sherbrooke, governor from 1816-1818.
    • Station Champs-de-Mars : Is a large public green space in Paris, France near the Eiffel Tower.
    • Station Place-d’Armes : Where Montreal's defenders stood.
    • Station Square-Victoria : Named after the British Monarch
    • Station Bonaventure : Named after Giovanni Fidanza Saint-Bonaventure.
    • Station Lucien-L’Allier : Rue Lucien l’Allier.
    • Station George-Vanier : George Vanier, Governor general of Canada.
    • Station Place-Saint-Henri : Named after the Saint-Henri chapel.
    • Station Vendôme : Named after a noble French family.
    • Station Villa-Maria : Named after the boarding school.
    • Station Snowdon : Named after the owner of the land.
    • Station Côte-Sainte-Catherine : Chemin de la Côte-Sainte-Catherine.
    • Station Plamondon : Named after the painter Antoine Plamondon.
    • Station Namur : Named after a city in Belgium.
    • Station de la Savane : Named after the street it's located on. Refers to a plot of land that is uncultivated.
    • Station du Collège : Named after College Sainte-Croix which is now the cegep Saint-Laurent.
  • Station Côte-Vertu : Boulevard de la Côte-Vertu.

Blue Line

    • Station Côte-de-Neiges : Named after a sanctuary that was miraculously covered in snow.
    • Station Université-de-Montréal : Named after the campus.
    • Station Édouard-Montpetit : Édouard Montpetit was a Quebec lawyer, economist and academic.
    • Station Outremont : Founded in 1875 it is located beyond Mount-Royal.
    • Station Acadie : Named to commemorate the the bicentennial of the deportation of the Acadians.
    • Station Parc : Named after the street where there's a park.
    • Station de Castelnau : Named after a french general.
    • Station Fabre : Named after the first Archbishop of Montreal.
    • Station D’Iberville : Heroic French military figure.
  • Station Saint-Michel : The street used to reach all the way to Cote-Saint-Michel.

Yellow Line

    • Station Longueuil: Charles Le Moyne de Longueuil the first baron of Longueuil.
  • Station Jean-Drapeau: Named after the Mayor of Montreal.