Red may be the colour of Christmas, but this year, it's better to be orange or yellow when it comes to the provincial government's colour-coded alert system, which dictates which regions are able to gather for Christmas in Quebec and which aren't.

Those, like Montreal, in a red alert zone, are forbidden from gathering for the holidays and could face up to a $6,000 fine for non-compliance.

However, for the ten regions that are in an orange or yellow alert, gatherings can still take place with limits depending on the zone. 

Editor's Choice: The Responses To Bloc Québécois Asking People To Say "Bonjour-HO!" Are Absolute GOLD

For those in an orange alert zone, gatherings up to six people are permitted and for those in a yellow alert zone, gatherings up to ten.

Currently, the regions in orange alert and yellow alert zones are as follows:

Orange Alert 

- Bas-Saint-Laurent, except Matanie, Matapedia, Mitis and Rimouski-Neigette

- Gaspésie-Îles-de-la-Madeleine

- Laurentians, except Deux-Montagnes, Oka, Pointe-Calumet, Saint-Eustache, Saint-Joseph-du-Lac, Sainte-Marthe-sur-le-Lac, Mirabel, the Rivière-du-Nord RCM, the Thérèse-De Blainville RCM, the Laurentides RCM and the Pays-d'en-Haut RCM

- Outaouais, except Gatineau and the MRC des Collines-de-l'Outaouais.

- Nord-du-Québec, except "the sectors of Chapais and Chibougamau and the surrounding areas located on the territory of the Regional Government Eeyou Istchee - James Bay"


- Abitibi-Témiscamingue

- Côte-Nord

- Grosse-Île and the Magdalen Islands 

- Terres-Cries-de-la-Baie-James

- Nunavik

It's currently advised not to travel between regions. 

If people do decide to gather in the zones where it is permitted, the government recommends a "voluntary confinement is recommended one week before and one week after the time of the gatherings."

Account Settings
Share Feedback
Log Out

Register this device to receive push notifications