Sign up for our newsletter and get a curated list of the top trending stories and exclusive rewards every day.

Trending Topics

Get the MTL Blog app

Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Quebec Is Closing Schools & Non-Essential Businesses In 3 Cities

Curfew will also go back to 8 p.m. in Quebec City, Lévis & Gatineau.

Quebec is putting Quebec City, Lévis and Gatineau "on pause" until April 12, meaning it will close the cities' schools, as well as recently reopened non-essential businesses, such as cinemas and gyms.   

Curfew in these three cities will revert back to 8 p.m. for the duration of the pause, Premier François Legault announced in a press conference on March 31. He explained the government "has a lot of concerns" about these areas because the COVID-19 situation is "deteriorating," as cases increase.

Editor's Choice: Dubé Has Declared Quebec 'Is In A Third Wave'

The municipality of Les Collines-de-l'Outaouais will be "on pause" as well.

Legault also announced that four regions — Outaouais, Capitale-Nationale, Chaudière-Appalaches and Bas-Saint-Laurent — are changing from orange zones to red zones on April 1 at 8 p.m. due to an "upward trend" of new cases.

"With the variants, we can see an explosion of cases within a few days. We're ready to act quickly and strongly if the situation worsens in other regions," Legault said. 

"We cannot exclude that over the next few days there may be other areas that will be added." 

More from MTL Blog

Comments 💬

Our comment section is a place to promote self-expression, freedom of speech and positivity. We encourage discussion and debate, but our pages must remain a safe space where everyone feels comfortable and the environment is respectful.

In order to make this possible, we monitor comments to keep spam, hate speech, violence, and vulgarity off our pages. Comments are moderated according to our Community Guidelines.

Please note that Narcity Media does not endorse the opinions expressed in the comment section of an article. Narcity Media has the right to remove comments, ban or suspend any user without notice, or close a story’s comment section at any time.

First and last names will appear with each comment and the use of pseudonyms is prohibited. By commenting, you acknowledge that Narcity Media has the right to use & distribute your content across our properties.